Navigation Menu+


Posted on Mar 19, 2014 in SLAM | 1 comment


I’m a SLAM fan. Ever since day 1, I’ve been a follower, collector, and purist of the ‘#1 In Your Face Basketball Magazine’. From Cover features, Punks and Slam Classic pieces, I’ve always appreciated gospel according to SLAM. One thing that I always looked forward to were the All-Slam teams. Over the past decade or so, these players made a name for themselves in the college ranks, or made an impact in the basketball world one way or another. It was like catching a glimpse of the future.

With Slam PH putting in the work, they made it happen. Again. Slam PH brought together Metro Manila’s top 24 High School players for the first ever 2014 SLAM RISING STARS CLASSIC. The Rising Stars Classic, pretty much like the Mcdonald’s All-American Game  or the Capital Classic. The game serves as a platform to showcase the nation’s top high school players in front of coaches, scouts, pro ballers and select media.

“The SLAM Rising Stars Classic is a gathering of the best high school players, a showcase event featuring the future of Philippine hoops and a unique opportunity to introduce the future of the sport to influencers in the basketball community”, said Mico Halili, Editor-At-Large of SLAM Philippines. “SLAM Philippines believes in the dreamers. We believe in their future. We believe in the power of their dreams.”

The game will take place at the Gatorade Hoops Center in Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong City on Saturday, March 29, tipping off at 4pm and will air on Sunday, April 20.  The 2014 SLAM Rising Stars Classic brings together UAAP Jrs. Season 76 MVP Thirdy Ravena from Ateneo, NCAA Jrs. Season 89’s MVP Prince Rivero from La Salle Green Hills and the San Beda Red Cubs’ Finals MVP Arvin Tolentino, who all represented the Philippines late last year as members of the Under-18 FIBA 3-on-3 Philippine Team. Also included in the star-studded roster is UAAP Jrs. Season 76 Finals MVP Hubert Cani from NU and leading scorer Renzo Subido from De La Salle Zobel along with 19 other top high school prospects to complete the line-up.

Five-time PBA champion and former FIBA Asia U-18 Philippine head coach Olsen Racela will coach Team Punks, with Twelve-time PBA champion Johnny Abarrientos serving as assistant coach. Eight-time UAAP Jrs. Champion head coach and current FIBA Asia U-18 Philippine head coach Jamike Jarin will coach Team Hype, assisted by six-time PBA Champion and current Talk N’ Text point guard Jimmy Alapag.

For more information, log on to, or follow SLAM PHILIPPINES on Facebook, @slamonlineph on Twitter and Instagram. #SLAMRisingStars

Team HYPE (Coach Jamike Jarin // Assistant Coach Jimmy Alapag) – white

#4 Jeric Adorio (Jose Rizal University)

#5 Hubert Cani (National University)

#6 John Cauilan (National University)

#7 Arjan Dela Cruz (Hope Christian High School)

#8 Clint Doliquez (Hope Christian High School)

#9 Richard Escoto (Far Eastern University)

#10 Matt Nieto (Ateneo de Manila University)

#11 Mike Nieto (Ateneo de Manila University)

#12 Prince Rivero (La Salle Greenhills)

#13 Arvin Tolentino (San Beda College)

#14 Ranbill Tongco (San Beda College)

#15 Rhanzelle Yong (San Sebastian College)

Team PUNKS (Coach Olsen Racela // Assistant Coach Johnny Abarrientos) – black

#4 John Apacible (Hope Christian High School)

#5 Michael Calisaan (San Sebastian College)

#6 Isaiah Dandan (University of Sto. Tomas)

#7 Diego Dario (UP Integrated School)

#8 Adven Diputado (San Beda College)

#9 JJ Domingo (far Eastern University)

#10 Alfren Gayosa (San Sebastian College)

#11 Jay Javelosa (Reedley International School)

#12 Javee Mocon (San Beda College)

#13 Reinier Quinga (Adamson University)

#14 Thirdy Ravena (Ateneo de Manila University)

#15 Renzo Subido (De La Salle Santiago Zobel)


1 Comment

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.